» » Mickey Hart - Planet Drum

Mickey Hart - Planet Drum download mp3

Mickey Hart - Planet Drum download mp3
Planet Drum
Tribal, Ambient
MP3 album size:
1970 mb
Other formats:
4.3 ✪

Complete your Mickey Hart collection. Planet Drum ‎(CD, Album, Club). Planet Drum ‎(Cass, Album).

Planet Drum is a world music album by Mickey Hart, a musician and musicologist who was a member of the rock band the Grateful Dead. Hart's concept for Planet Drum was to play drum music with percussionists from around the world, and incorporate their different musical styles and traditions into a new global sound. The musicians on the Planet Drum album were from the United States (Hart), India (Zakir Hussain and .

On this one, he brings together artists from cultures as diverse as India, Brazil, and Nigeria. The idea was for everyone to simply get together, start playing, and see what would happen. Some of the album's best moments feature singer Flora Purim ("Light Over Shadow," "Lost River"); another is an exciting program piece called "The Hunt. Temple Caves," a fragile and lovely piece that defines more space than it fills, is another high point. But most of the album consists of repetitive, monochromatic jams that start out pleasant and lulling and quickly become merely annoying.

On this page you can not listen to mp3 music free or download album or mp3 track to your PC, phone or tablet. All materials are provided for educational purposes. Released at: This album was released on the label Rykodisc (catalog number RCD 10206). This album was released in 1991 year. Format of the release is. CD, Album. The album included the following session artists: Co-producer.

On the innovative Planet Drum album, Hart brought together Nigerian drum legend Babatunde Olatunji, Indian tabla virtuoso Zakir Hussain, Nigerian talking drum ace Sikiru Adepoju, Puerto Rico's master conguero Giovanni Hidalgo, and Brazilian percussionist Airto Moreira, and jazz singer Flora Purim. The album won the very first GRAMMY(tm) for world music in 1991, spent an unprecedented 26 weeks at on the Billboard world music chart, and remains a world-music staple.

By: Mickey Hart (1991, Electronic). More albums from Mickey Hart: Yamantaka by Mickey Hart. Mickey Hart’s Mystery Box by Mickey Hart. Tall, Terrific And Trouble! by Mickey Hart. At The Edge by Mickey Hart. View all albums . Planet Drum. By: Mickey Hart (1991, Electronic).

For Planet Drum, Hart convened some of the world's finest drum talents for a momentous collaboration that won the very first Grammy for World Music. He brought together Nigerian drum legend Babatunde Olatunji, Indian tabla virtuoso Zakir Hussain, Nigerian talking drum ace Sikiru Adepoju, and Puerto Rico's master conguero Giovanni Hidalgo, among others  . Recorded 1991 at Studio X, Sonoma County, California Produced by Mickey Hart. Digitally remastered.

Planet Drum Album Cover Art. Mickey Hart. length: 3:42 producer: Mickey Hart mixer: Jeff Sterling and Tom Flye recording engineer: Jeff Sterling and Tom Flye co-producer: Zakir Hussain, Sikiru Adepoju, Airto Moreira, Vikku Vinayakram, Flora Purim and Babatunde Olatunji tabla: Zakir Hussain snare drum: Mickey Hart tambourine: Mickey Hart balafon: Zakir Hussain cowbell: Sikiru Adepoju chimes: Airto Moreira bass drum: Mickey Hart handclaps: Airto Moreira whistle: Airto Moreira.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Udu Chant
Bass Drum, Snare, Percussion [Hoop Drum, "Beam"], Tambourine, Triangle, Vocals – Mickey HartCowbell – Sikiru AdepojuUdu, Tabla, Balafon – Zakir HussainVocals, Chimes, Percussion [Tamanco, Conch Shell], Whistle [Bird Calls], Handclaps – Airto Moreira
2 Island Groove
Caxixi, Rattle, Cymbal [Chinese Cymbal-Throwing], Voice [Yelling] – Airto MoreiraDjembe, Congas, Shekere, Vocals – Babatunde OlatunjiDrums, Percussion [Bombo Indio With Split Bamboo] – Mickey HartTalking Drum [Dundun], Percussion [Duggi Tarang] – Sikiru AdepojuTalking Drum [Madal], Dholak – Zakir Hussain
3 Light Over Shadow
Djembe, Percussion [Ngoma], Ashiko – Babatunde OlatunjiSnare, Percussion [Metal Spring], Tom Tom [Toms], Percussion [Mexican Donkey Jaws], Cowbell, Cuica, Flute, Vocals – Airto MoreiraVocals – Flora Purim
4 Dance Of The Hunter's Fire
Bells – Sikiru AdepojuDjembe – Babatunde OlatunjiDjembe, Shaker – Airto MoreiraGhatam – T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram*Shaker – Caryl Ohrbach, Flora PurimShekere – Frank ColonShekere, Congas – Giovanni Hidalgo
5 Jewe "You Are The One"
Vocals – Flora PurimVocals, Body Percussion – Babatunde Olatunji, Bruce Langhorne, Gordy Ryan, Mickey Hart
6 The Hunt
Bells, Tabla, Tabla [Naal] – Zakir HussainDjembe, Ashiko, Percussion [Ngoma] – Babatunde OlatunjiDrums – Mickey HartGhatam, Jew's Harp – T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram*Shaker – Airto MoreiraTalking Drum [Dundun] – Sikiru Adepoju
7 Temple Caves
Djembe, Congas – Babatunde OlatunjiPercussion [Gudugudu] – Sikiru AdepojuPercussion [Split Bamboo], Rainstick, Shaker, Drum [Earth Drum], Percussion [Clackers, Duggi Tarang], Body Percussion – Mickey HartShaker, Voice, Percussion [Conch Shell], Gong [Slit Gongs] – Airto MoreiraTabla, Percussion [Taya] – Zakir Hussain
8 The Dancing Sorcerer
Berimbau – Airto MoreiraTabla, Talking Drum [Madal] – Zakir Hussain
9 Bones
Balafon, Bones – Mickey HartBata – Giovanni HidalgoTalking Drum [Dundun], Shaker, Bells – Zakir HussainVocals – Babatunde Olatunji, Flora Purim
10 Lost River
Cymbal, Shaker, Wood Block, Tom Tom [Floor Tom], Percussion [Metal Percussion] – Airto MoreiraDjembe, Talking Drum [Dundun] – Sikiru AdepojuDrums – Mickey HartPercussion [Duggi Tarang, Conch Shell] – Zakir HussainVocals – Babatunde Olatunji, Flora Purim
11 Evening Samba
Bass Drum, Snare, Tom Tom, Tambourine, Whistle, Wood Block, Percussion [Metal Percussion], Cymbal, Bells – Airto MoreiraBells – Mickey Hart, Sikiru Adepoju, Zakir HussainGhatam – T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram*Shaker, Bells – Babatunde Olatunji
12 Iyanu "Surprises"
Vocals – Flora Purim, Molonga CasquelordVocals, Handclaps – Babatunde OlatunjiVocals, Percussion [Bamboo With Brushes] – Airto MoreiraVocals, Percussion [Gourds] – Mickey Hart
13 Mysterious Island
Body Percussion, Tabla [Grand Dumbec] – Mickey HartUdu – Jeff SterlingWhistle [Bird Whistles], Nose Flute, Body Percussion, Tambourine – Airto MoreiraWind Chimes, Vocals, Voice [Seagulls] – Flora Purim
14 Sea of Showers 4:52
15 Throat Games 2:27
16 The Spot 4:34

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – 360° Productions
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – 360° Productions
  • Recorded At – Studio X, Sonoma, CA
  • Mixed At – Studio X, Sonoma, CA


  • Art Direction – Howard Jacobsen
  • Co-producer – Airto Moreira, Babatunde Olatunji, Flora Purim, Sikiru Adepoju, T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram*, Zakir Hussain
  • Design [Package Design] – Steven Jurgensmeyer
  • Illustration [Cover] – Nancy Nimoy
  • Mastered By [Digital Mastering] – Paul Stubblebine
  • Photography By – John Werner, Kenneth J. Becker
  • Producer – Mickey Hart
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Jeff Sterling, Tom Flye


Copyright © & ℗ 1991 360° Productions
Printed in the USA

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 602557170856

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RCD 10206 Mickey Hart Planet Drum ‎(CD, Album) Rykodisc RCD 10206 US 1991
NG-0365 Mickey Hart Planet Drum ‎(CD, Album, Unofficial) Nord Group, M&A Group NG-0365 Russia 1997
RCD 10206 Mickey Hart Planet Drum ‎(CD, Album, RP, PMD) Rykodisc RCD 10206 US Unknown
B0025691-01 Mickey Hart Planet Drum ‎(2xLP, Album, RE) UMe B0025691-01 US 2017
RCD 10206 Mickey Hart Planet Drum ‎(CD, Album, Club) Rykodisc RCD 10206 US 1991