» » Hickoids - The Out Of Towners

Hickoids - The Out Of Towners download mp3

Hickoids - The Out Of Towners download mp3
The Out Of Towners
Country Rock, Hard Rock, Rock & Roll
MP3 album size:
1191 mb
Other formats:
4.8 ✪

The Out of Towners by Hickoids, released 21 October 2016 1. I Have Always Been Here Before 2. I Just Left Myself Today 3. Night Life 4. Dead in a Motel Room 5. Cans 6. At the Crossroads The Hickoids final recordings with Davy Jones, a collection of covers by Texas artists including The Dicks, Terry Allen, Roky Erickson, Rich Minus, Willie Nelson and Doug Sahm. Got it. + add. album.

The Out Of Towners is the final recording by the Texas cowpunk band the Hickoids featuring late Austin guitarist and punk legend Davy Jones (1954 - 2015). Jones played every major and minor venue in the city from the late '70s until cancer sidelined him in 2014 and was inducted to the Austin Music Hall of Fame three different times. The mini-album is a collection of covers written by Texas artists including Willie Nelson, Roky Erickson, Terry Allen and Doug Sahm, and showcases Davy’s rough and tumble, off-the-wall guitar stylings and captures the Hickoids ramshackle charm

The longtime Hickoids guitarist, who died of lung cancer in 2015, was already struggling with the illness when these tracks were cut. While it's impossible to hear Jones and company reimagine this eclectic six-pack of quintessential Texas songs without recalling the poignant setting of their creation, The Out of Towners also makes at least as much stylistic sense as the Hickoids' 2011 Brit-rock cover romp, Kicking It With the Twits. The EP's strongest suit lies in reconciling Willie Nelson's "Night Life" and Terry Allen's "I Just Left Myself Today" with a rage bomb like the Dicks' "Dead in a Motel Room. A six-minute immolation of Doug Sahm's "At the Crossroads" makes an appropriate fin de siècle for one of Austin's most irrepressible musical characters.

Album · 2016 · 6 Songs. Kicking It With the Twits.

The mini-album The Out of Towners features half a dozen takes on songs by Willie Nelson, Roky Erickson, The Dicks, Terry Allen, Rich Minus and Doug Sahm. It’s also, sadly, the last record that Davy Jones (The Dicks, The Hickoids) played guitar on before dying of cancer. In true Hickoids fashion, the songs here manage to be both beautiful and at times messy (not that you’d want it any other way). While all of these songs are keepers, the group’s raucous take on Nelson’s Night Life and the organ-drenched slow burn on Cans are particularly impressive.

item 5 HICKOIDS-OUT OF TOWNERS (EP) CD NEW -HICKOIDS-OUT OF TOWNERS (EP) CD NEW. £1. 1. item 6 The Out Of Towners (Mini Album) -The Out Of Towners (Mini Album). item 7 HICKOIDS: OUT OF TOWNERS (EP) (CD) -HICKOIDS: OUT OF TOWNERS (EP) (CD). Inside Out Album Music CDs. Out of Line 2012 Music CDs. Out of Line Rock Music CDs. This item doesn't belong on this page.

I Have Always Been Here Before. Your browser does not support the audio element. I Just Left Myself Today. Dead in a Motel Room.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 I Have Always Been Here Before
Guitar – Cody RichardsonSongwriter – Roky Erickson
A2 I Just Left Myself Today
Songwriter – Terry Allen
A3 Night Life
Songwriter – Paul Buskirk, Walt Breeland*, Willie Nelson
B1 Dead In A Motel Room
Songwriter – Dicks
B2 Cans
Songwriter – Rich Minus
B3 At The Crossroads
Songwriter – Doug Sahm

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Saustex Records & Entertainment LLC
  • Copyright (c) – Saustex Records & Entertainment LLC
  • Pressed By – Josey Record Manufacturing
  • Recorded At – The Tape Shed, Austin
  • Mixed At – Ameripolitan Studios
  • Mastered At – Getzone, Dallas


  • Artwork [Cover] – Billie Buck
  • Bass, Slide Guitar, Vocals – Rice Moorehead
  • Drums, Percussion – Lance Farley
  • Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Davy Jones
  • Engineer – Cris Burns
  • Engineer [Additional] – Glenn Chambers , Scott Lutz
  • Guitar – Tom Trusnovic
  • Lacquer Cut By – SPGII*
  • Mastered By – Kurt Wipfli
  • Mastered By [Vinyl Mastering] – Stan Getz*
  • Piano, Keyboards – Jacob Schulze
  • Saxophone, Harmonica – Walter Daniels
  • Vocals – Jeff Smith


The last Hickoids recordings with Davy Jones. An EP of cover songs.

Text on sticker:
Strictly limited edition of 400 copies pressed on sturdy black 140 gram American vinyl

Recorded at The Tape Shed in Austin, TX 2014
Mixed at Ameripolitan Studio in Austin, TX 2016

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 614511838528
  • Barcode (Text): 6 14511 838528
  • Barcode (Side A, etched runout): SEX-1607 A Josey Record MFG Gzone.Dallas
  • Barcode (Side B, etched runout): SEX-1607 B SPGII

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SEX1607 Hickoids The Out Of Towners ‎(LP, EP, Pin) Saustex Records SEX1607 US 2016
SEX1607 Hickoids The Out Of Towners ‎(CD, EP) Saustex Records SEX1607 US 2016